Faculty Advisers

Your faculty adviser will be your primary source of academic guidance for your first year (BSE) or first and sophomore years (AB). Your adviser knows not only his or her field, but also the general requirements of a Princeton undergraduate education, and can help you navigate the Princeton curriculum, plan according to your own ambitions, and take advantage of special opportunities. 

Your first academic program forms gives us an idea of your academic interests. With this information, we try to match students with advisers. This is not an exact science, nor is it meant to be. The adviser’s job is precisely that: to advise. Advisers provide general advice on constructing a program of study and are not authorities on every single course and major. They do not dictate programs of study, nor do they make choices for students between equally plausible alternatives. Advisers can make suggestions, offer opinions, and provide feedback on ideas related to your academic interests. They can warn against overly ambitious or unduly light programs of study. They can push for the fulfillment of requirements. In order to get the most from meeting with an adviser, however, students should come in with ideas, plans, and some possible course selections to discuss.

You’ll meet with your adviser each term before course enrollment, but for the best advising experience, make sure you see your adviser at other times of the term too! Please contact your adviser if you'd like to drop or add a course, if you think you might need academic support, or if you'd like to discuss the pros and cons of different majors, study abroad, or research.  Take advantage of your adviser’s office hours and advising meals at Rocky: share how you’re doing, benefit from your adviser’s experience, or just chat informally. It's worth investing some time to build this relationship; after all, the better your adviser knows you, the more able he or she will be to advise you!

Dean Avens and Dr. Levine also provide supplemental academic advising and support for all Rocky students.

Peter Andolfatto

Peter Andolfatto
  • Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
E-mail: pandolfa@princeton.edu

Elizabeth Armstrong

Elizabeth Armstrong
  • Sociology and Public Affairs
E-mail: ema@princeton.edu

Jay Benziger

Jay Benziger
  • Chemical and Biological Engineering
E-mail: benziger@princeton.edu

Kelly Caylor

Kelly Caylor
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
E-mail: kcaylor@princeton.edu

JC de Swaan

JC de Swaan
  • Economics
E-mail: jdeswaan@princeton.edu

Brigid Doherty

Brigid Doherty
  • German and Art
E-mail: bdoherty@princeton.edu

Patricia Fernández-Kelly

Patricia Fernandez-Kelly
E-mail: mpfk@princeton.edu

Elad Hazan

Elad Hazan
  • Computer Science
E-mail: ehazan@cs.princeton.edu

Yibin Kang

y
  • Molecular Biology
E-mail: ykang@princeton.edu

Deborah Kaple

Deborah Kaple
  • Sociology
E-mail: dkaple@princeton.edu

Martin Kern

Martin Kern
  • East Asian Studies
E-mail: mkern@princeton.edu

Samory Kpotufe

Samory Kpotufe
  • Operations Research and Financial Engineering
E-mail: samory@princeton.edu

Ilyana Kuziemko

Ilyana Kuziemko
  • Economics
E-mail: kuziemko@princeton.edu

Simone Marchesi

Simone Marchesi
  • French and Italian
E-mail: simonem@princeton.edu

Gigi Martinelli

Gigi Martinelli
  • Electrical Engineering
E-mail: martinel@princeton.edu

Sophie Meunier

Sophie Meunier
  • Woodrow Wilson School
E-mail: smeunier@princeton.edu

Zia Mian

Zia Mian
  • Woodrow Wilson School
E-mail: zia@princeton.edu

Prateek Mittal

  • Electrical Engineering
E-mail: pmittal@princeton.edu

Mala Murthy

Mala Murthy
  • Molecular Biology/Neuroscience
E-mail: mmurthy@princeton.edu

Paul Prucnal

Paul Prucnal
  • Electrical Engineering
E-mail: prucnal@princeton.edu

Martin Semmelhack

Marty Semmelhack
  • Chemistry
E-mail: mfshack@princeton.edu

Joshua Shaevitz

Josh Shaevitz
  • Physics and Genomics
E-mail: shaevitz@princeton.edu

Justin Sheffield

Justin Sheffield
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
E-mail: justin@princeton.edu

Ali Valenzuela

Ali Valenzuela
  • Politics
E-mail: aavalenz@princeton.edu

Andrew Zwicker

Andrew Zwicker
  • Princeton Plasma Physics Lab/Writing Program
E-mail: azwicker@pppl.gov

Florent Masse

Florent Masse
  • Resident Faculty Fellow, French and Italian
E-mail: fmasse@princeton.edu